consell gaudi

The Council for the Promotion and Dissemination of Gaudí’s Work is a consultative body of the Government of Catalonia’s Department of Culture, created in 2014 with the primary goal of watching out for the preservation, study and promotion of Gaudí’s heritage.

The Gaudí Council has its origin in the Declaration of Mataró, signed in that city in 2013 on the occasion of the 130th anniversary of the Nau Gaudí. In the Declaration, cultural institutions, professional associations and, prominently, the present managers of the architect’s works, undertake the commitment to work jointly to preserve and make known Gaudí’s legacy.

The Council, which is chaired by the Catalan Minister of Culture, is formed by the people in charge of the various publicly and privately owned structures built by Gaudí in Catalonia, and by acknowledged experts on the architect’s work and the representatives of various entities, institutions and Public Administrations.

The following works are represented in the Gaudí Council:

· Crypt of the Güell Industrial Colony
· Batlló House
· Vicens House
· Güell Palace
· Güell Park
· Calvet House
· Teresian School
· Pavilions of the Güell Estate
· Bellesguard Villa
· Wall and gateway of the Miralles Estate
· Nau Gaudí in Mataró
· Milà House-La Pedrera
· Church of the Sagrada Família
· Glorious Mystery of the Monumental Rosary of Montserrat

Also forming part of the Council are the Director General for Archives, Libraries, Museums and Heritage; the Deputy Director of Architectural, Archaeological and Paleontological Heritage; the Head of the Division for Actions in Museums and Monuments of the Government of Catalonia’s Department of Culture; the Director of the National Art Museum of Catalonia; the Deputy Head of the Government of Catalonia’s Department of Territory and Sustainability; the Mayor of Riudoms; the Mayor of Reus; the Director of the Gaudí Chair; and the experts appointed by the Catalan Minister of Culture by reason of their recognised knowledge of the work of Antoni Gaudí.